Lots of work – exciting times!

Dear Diary,

at the moment, I am very busy with work. My agenda is pretty packed until Christmas and there are a lot of things I want to get done before the Christmas break.

I am now trying to teach myself the basics of OpenSesame so that I can program my experiments in Python in an open-source environment. Some of the tasks I am planning to program are going to be done on an Android tablet so that’s going to be interesting. I am making reasonable progress and have finished most of the easy parts of the programming. Now I have to figure out how to do the tricky parts.

I have also just submitted the final corrections of the paper I submitted a while back. The editor has sent it to the publisher and they are now formatting everything correctly. They sent me the formatted version and I had one last chance to make any adjustments. I also had to upload high-resolution figures and provide some missing information. I sent everything off about an hour ago. I am not sure how long it takes before the paper is made available online. But when it is made available, it is considered published. I hope that it still happens in 2015 because then I have two publications to my name for that year. That’d be nice.

I’ve also had meetings with my supervisors and the students that want to do their research projects with us (those are basically equivalent to a Master’s thesis). That’s also going to be quite some work because I’ll be involved in the day-to-day supervising of those three projects. They are also quite interesting, though. If it least one of them can something out of this that is publishable, I’ll have my name on it as a second author which would be great. All three of them want to publish their work, though – so in the ideal case, there’ll be three publications. I don’t quite see that happening, though. But we’ll see – that’d be amazing.

I also spent some time looking at the data I’m currently collecting. I should get the last missing piece of it on Monday and then I can run some preliminary analyses. I scheduled a meeting with my supervisor and promotor to discuss the data on Wednesday. I think we need to discuss how exactly I am going to write all this stuff up because now we have a lot of data and there are multiple story-lines. I don’t think it makes sense to put it all in a single paper. So I might split everything up into two papers. But we’ll have to see about it. It also depends on the results to some extent. We’ll keep collecting data until at least Christmas, possibly a bit longer. I have data from a bit more than 60 participants now but I’d actually like to have something like 150. We’ll see whether that’s possible. That’d be great, though.

Anyways, all of this is pretty exciting because there are a lot of very interesting things happening. The “problem” is that they are all happening at the same time and it’s a lot of work to juggle them all. Exciting, though.

Leave a comment