Starting to dive into the collected data

Dear Diary,

today, I finally started to take a closer look at the data. Kind of. I finished the script that collects all the data. I have 76 participants in total. Most of them finished all three sessions. There are 2 blocks in each session (i.e. 6 blocks/participant) and two files for each block: the one containing the events during the learning phase and the file with the results of the final test. That is, I have about 6 * 2 * 76 = 912 files.

So the biggest problem was to read in all the files, parse them and stitch them together. Then I implemented the exclusion criteria that we came up beforehand to figure out under which conditions participants should not be included in the data set. After I wrote all the code to identify those and fish them out, 67 participants remained.

Initially, I hoped to end up with around 40 participants. So I have a lot more data than I was aiming for. Which is great, of course. Here’s some copy-pasta from the scripts I wrote:

There are 67 participants in the data set of which 17 are male and 50 are female. The median age is 20, with ages between 17, 26 and a standard deviation of 1.7351. Nationalities: Germans (52.2%); Dutch: (35.8%); rest: other.

I might put up all the scripts with the results on my “professional” website and link to them. I have to figure out whether it’s smart to do that before the paper has been submitted or not.

Leave a comment